DIY Laundry Detergent

If I can save money by DIY’ing then I will. So, this brings me to post about making my own laundry detergent. It lasts about 9-12 months and costs around $25 to make. I have made this before and made some adjustments based on that. The directions below reflect my most up to date changes.

First you need the following items:
-Cheese grater
-Garbage bag
-Large storage container w/ lid
-3 bars of Fels-Naptha
-4 lbs of Oxi Clean (a 3 lb & a 1 lb container)
-A 3 lb 7 oz box of Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda
-4 lbs of Arm & Hammer Baking Soda
-A 4 lb 12 oz box of Borax
-2 containers of Purex Crystals (scent of your choice)
image

Instructions:

-Grate the Fels-Naptha bars
image

-Once all 3 bars are grated mix it with all of the other ingredients (I do this in the garbage bag).
-It is easier for mixing if you add a little bit of each ingredient in a layering system.
-Once it is all mixed well, put it in the large storage container for use (I use the container that animal crackers came in at Sam’s club and all of the detergent fits perfect).
-Now you have detergent that is ready for use. All you need is about 2 Tbsp per load.
Here’s my finished detergent:
image

Happy detergent making! 🙂

-Em

Leave a Reply

